MySpace. MyMemories

I don’t think I’m alone if I say that MySpace was my first foray into social media. I remember everyone having pages set up and talking about how great the site was. I felt left out if I’m totally honest. It was like the time everyone was raving about a programme called South Park. I played along, buying a Kenny key ring although I had no idea who the big-eyed, orange hooded creature was staring back at me. I did eventually catch up and I still watch it to this day. (The same thing happened with Little Britain – love it!).

download - Copy  images

(Images: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenny_McCormick & http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenny_McCormick)

Anyway, I eventually got onto MySpace and set up a page. Looking back I was on there every day. Not all day every day but… yeah, every day! That doesn’t seem like a big deal to all of us that use Facebook nowadays as a social crutch but back then I was out all the time. I had friends and parties and gigs to go to. And I still managed to fit it in. It replaced phone calls and texts and invitations. I was hooked.

I never “did” Bebo, haven’t bothered with Instagram and my phone doesn’t have Snapchat. I now have a Facebook page. Although I didn’t really have a choice. You see, apparently everyone decided Facebook was the next “big thing” and everyone left MySpace. It was just me and a few musicians (good and bad). So, like all the others, I turned to FB.

download (3) - Copydownload (2) - Copydownload (4) - Copydownload (1)

MySpace still exists. As a music site more than anything so my forgotten password will stay forgotten. It is weird to think my page is out there, somewhere, in the big WWW. and it probably always will be. Yet, today, I had a very nice surprise. An email from MySpace with my photos. My photos from my page. Memories of years past and friends long since seen, of a previous job and previous boyfriends. Happy memories (I mean who puts up sad photos right?). It was a nice reminder of days gone past and a lovely start to a lovely day.

images (1)

The photos are now on Facebook. My new “Space”.

3 thoughts on “MySpace. MyMemories”

  1. I used to do Myspace and Bebo as well as MSN messaging and all of that! I’m not quite sure how I managed to fit it all in either! I’d forgotten about Myspace until I saw your post. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

  2. How cool that they sent you your pics. I don’t think I even remember the email I used for MySpace and I sure as heck have no clue what the password is anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

