Water, water everywhere but too much TV to drink

As I have mentioned before I am a big procrastinator. I work much better on deadlines as I have no excuse not to get something done. For example, I have a friend coming to stay next weekend so rather than doing a usual house clean today (my only day off this week), I figure I’ll do it Thursday. Or Friday. It’ll be cleaner that way. And it also means I don’t have to do it today.

I’m not lazy per se but I am selfish with my own time when it comes to me. To clarify, if I am alone for the day, do I want to clean or watch TV? Do I want to write or watch TV? Do I want to do one of the many outstanding DIY projects on my new home or watch TV? Can you see the theme here? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t sit on the sofa all day long but TV fascinates me. Everything you watch on BBC 1, Channel 4, Sky, cable, Netflix, etc. somebody wrote. Somebody produced. Somebody picked the costumes. Somebody acted in it. These people are doing what I want to be involved in. Not that I do much about accomplishing that dream. I kid myself thinking that watching all this stuff is a way of being involved in what they’re doing. And it is, in a way, but not the way I want.

I’m afraid I have become a creature of habit. And that creature may, one day, be a total “couch potato”. Yes, one day I might. But now, today, I am a procrastinator so I still have the ability to change. I will probably always find an excuse not to. An excuse to postpone my inevitable conceived failures. But at least there are enough channels out there to find something worth watching while I wait.

3 thoughts on “Water, water everywhere but too much TV to drink”

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I’ve been there. Hell, some days I’m still there. It’s a vicious cycle for me of “Let’s do all the things!” to “Yeah, let’s not.” I’ve been a few weeks into my own journey, an effort to get away from the old habits and develop something new. Whatever you decide to do and is best for you, I wish you all the best!

    Like

      1. Likewise! I try to find things to keep me going. Lately I’ve had more success than before. By all means feel free to get in touch with me or just check out my blog now and then. It helps to have a support system 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

