Variety may be the spice of life but I like the personal touch

I was a little lazy today and searched for new blogs to follow using the Community Blogroll. I scrolled down and pounced on any name I thought was catchy, fun or unusual. Sifting through a lot of blogs (some too bright to read without inducing headaches, some where the links didn’t work – grr and some in different languages) I did find five that sparked my interest. The chosen are:

thoughtsofmymadlife
Straight off, I liked the layout. Then I read that K is a pre-med student… who also has time to write! Bugger, out go my excuses of being too busy/tired/blah blah blah. This woman may become my idol (K – don’t get scared. I’m not a Cat with claws).

homeiswherethegnomeis
…Do I really need to explain why I picked this one? Oh okay. She’s funny. I laughed out loud, which is a rarity for me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not miserable but it was a nice, straight from the gut, unapologetic, gusto of a laugh. So thank you.

itsyouandeverything
First off, it’s pretty. A very pretty page. And the girl (deep, deep, down in my recesses) straight away though “Aw, that’s lovely”. Then I read it… Eliana not only writes but writes reviews. SOLD!

thinkingthoughtsithunk
When I first saw this title, I admit I read, re-read and re-read again. Another great layout made me linger long enough to get reading and there are blogs about Reading Festival. I did not go to Reading Festival. I sat on my sofa in my Pink Cookie bathrobe and fast forwarded bands I don’t like. But Jade actually went. Follow.

typicalteenagetragedy
I don’t know if I’m really allowed to read them considering my, ahem, age but I love the Confessions of Georgia Nicholson series (yep, I have them ALL) so seeing this title immediately made me think of the hilarity and fantastic-ness (I make up words; you’ll get used to it) of Louise Rennison’s writing so I began to read. I was not disappointed. My teenage years are not that far behind me… kind of but I totally get where this guy is coming from on his Professional Procrastinator entry so on the Follow button I clicked.

Well I’m being pretty women heavy here but I read a lot of books by male authors so they can’t bitch. As for the variety of topics, these all seem pretty personal but isn’t all writing personal? I’ll leave you to ponder…

Leave a Reply

