You ask why? I say because

Whenever I’m asked, why writing? I don’t know how to answer. How do you explain a feeling? How do you describe an emotion? I try to avoid the cliché and answer honestly… because I have to. I have to because there is nothing else that grips my heart and tightens my chest like this. Nothing else that gives the same satisfaction or rush. That being said, I should probably answer more honestly and say… I don’t actually write. images

(Image: http://radiantorganizing.com/the-power-of-pen-and-paper/)

I know, I know, here come the clichés: I never have time, I spend all day at a computer already, I have no ideas, I will get round to it later, etc. Yep, that’s me. One big, ol’, tired, cliché. And I’m sick of it! I am here because I need to write and I need to write now. I honestly believe I have something to say and that I can say it well. Of course, you can be the judge of that but it won’t ever shut me up. I tried acting, singing, dancing and the one thing that shone through for me was writing. A dark, deep, urge that would not settle. So, here I am. In terms of who I am, I am a twenty-something woman (weird for me to say as I think of myself as much younger), originally from Sunderland but currently living in the beautiful city of York. I have two jobs, which I enjoy and pay the bills and a fantastic boyfriend. I enjoy reading, writing (when I actually write anything) and horror films are my ultimate weakness.

download

(Image: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunderland_A.F.C.)

images (1)

(Image: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/York_city_walls)

images (2)

(Image: The Haunted House. 2004 Daniele Montella)

I’m lucky, I know I am. Much luckier than some. But , like many of you probably,  I still have those hopes and dreams that one day I can earn a living from what I love so much, what I struggle with so much and, maybe unfortunately, is the only thing, I think, that will ever fully satisfy me.

3 thoughts on “You ask why? I say because”

  1. I never know what to say when people ask me why I write a blog. So when they say why, my (now automatic) answer is often this: why not? I look forward to reading more of your blogs 🙂

    Like

  2. HI, Love that you have to write. I was never happy about doing competitions in school. At this time in my life (60s) I hope to become at least comfortable with it. Thanks

    Like

    1. Yeah, giving it a go is the best way to start. I feel I have to write but it’s not easy and often I don’t know what to say. I’m hoping, eventually, it all becomes easier (fingers crossed!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

